The LegCo Reporter
Council Meetings 2013-2014
 
Issue No. 20 (21 March 2014)


- Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No.3) Bill 2013 and Product Eco-responsibility (Amendment) Bill 2013 passed

- Debated a motion under the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance to appoint a select committee to inquire into the immediate termination of the contract of Ms LI Wei-ling, a radio host of Hong Kong Commercial Broadcasting Company Limited ("Commercial Radio"), and the alleged political interference by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government with the editorial independence of Commercial Radio

- Motion on "The incident of attack on Mr Kevin LAU Chun-to, the former chief editor of Ming Pao Daily News" passed

- Motion on "Evaluating the effectiveness of the policy on 'promoting sports in the community, supporting elite sports and developing Hong Kong into a prime destination for hosting major international sports events' and formulating a long-term sports policy" passed

- Motion on "Encouraging the return of the industrial sector for development to make Hong Kong's industries more diversified"passed

 

At the Legislative Council meetings on 19, 20 and 21 March 2014,  the Council passed the following bills:

(1) Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No.3) Bill 2013

3 Members expressed their views during the Second Reading debate on the bill.

(2) Product Eco-responsibility (Amendment) Bill 2013, with amendments moved by the Secretary for the Environment at the Committee Stage.

9 Members expressed their views during the Second Reading debate on the bill.

  

The Council also passed the following proposed resolutions:

(1) Proposed resolution moved by the Secretary for Transport and Housing  under section 34(2) of the Interpretation and General Clauses Ordinance to amend the Road Traffic (Construction and Maintenance of Vehicles) (Amendment) Regulation 2014, laid on the table of the Legislative Council on 22 January 2014.

4 Members expressed their views.

(2) Proposed resolution moved by the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury under the Public Finance Ordinance to give for a sum not exceeding $78,677,470,000 to be charged on the general revenue for expenditure on the services of the Government in respect of the financial year commencing on 1 April 2014.

1 Member expressed his views.

(3) Proposed resolution moved by the Secretary for Security under the Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters Ordinance to approve the Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters (Spain) Order made by the Chief Executive in Council on 22 October 2013.

1 Member expressed his views.

(4) Proposed resolution moved by the Secretary for Security under the Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters Ordinance to approve the Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters (Czech Republic) Order made by the Chief Executive in Council on 22 October 2013.

1 Member expressed his views.

(5) Proposed resolution moved by the Secretary for Food and Health under the Pharmacy and Poisons Ordinance to approve the Pharmacy and Poisons (Amendment) Regulation 2014 and the Poisons List (Amendment) Regulation 2014, made by the Pharmacy and Poisons Board on 14 February 2014.

 

(6) Proposed resolution moved by Hon Jeffrey LAM under section 34(4) of the Interpretation and General Clauses Ordinance to extend the period for amending the Toys and Children's Products Safety (Additional Safety Standards or Requirements) Regulation, the Toys and Children's Products Safety Regulation (Repeal) Regulation and the Toys and Children's Products Safety (Amendment) Ordinance 2013 (Commencement) Notice, laid on the table of the Legislative Council on 19 February 2014, to the meeting of 9 April 2014.

1 Member expressed his views.

(7) Proposed resolution moved by Hon TAM Yiu-chung under Article 75 of the Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China, to amend the relevant Rules of Procedure of the Legislative Council regarding access to the Legislative Council's documents and records.

3 Members expressed their views.

 

At the same meeting, Hon Andrew LEUNG moved a motion under Rule 49E(2) of the Rules of Procedure of the Legislative Council to take note of Report No. 13/13-14 of the House Committee laid on the Table of the Council in relation to the Air Pollution Control (Marine Light Diesel) Regulation.

3 Members expressed their views.

In accordance with Rule 49E(9) of the Rules of Procedure of the Legislative Council, the above motion did not need to be put to vote.

 

The Council also debated the following motion:

Motion moved by Hon Claudia MO under the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance to appoint a select committee to inquire into the immediate termination of the contract of Ms LI Wei-ling, a radio host of Hong Kong Commercial Broadcasting Company Limited ("Commercial Radio"), and the alleged political interference by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government with the editorial independence of Commercial Radio; and that in the performance of its duties the committee be authorized under section 9(2) of the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance (Cap. 382) to exercise the powers conferred by section 9(1) of that Ordinance.

28 Members expressed their views.

The motion moved by Hon Claudia MO was negatived.

 

In addition, the Council passed the following motions not intended to have legislative effect:

(1) Motion on "The incident of attack on Mr Kevin LAU Chun-to, the former chief editor of Ming Pao Daily News", moved by Hon Andrew LEUNG as amended by Hon Claudia MO and Ho Cyd HO.

43 Members expressed their views.

The amendments moved by Hon Emily LAU and Hon Gary FAN were negatived.

 

(2)  Motion on "Evaluating the effectiveness of the policy on 'promoting sports in the community, supporting elite sports and developing Hong Kong into a prime destination for hosting major international sports events' and formulating a long-term sports policy", moved by Hon MA Fung-kwok as amended by Dr Hon Kenneth CHAN, Dr Hon Helena WONG and Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG.

25 Members expressed their views.

 

(3) Motion on "Encouraging the return of the industrial sector for development to make Hong Kong's industries more diversified", moved by Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan, as amended by Hon SIN Chung-kai, Hon Kenneth LEUNG and Hon CHAN Yuen-han.

20 Members expressed their views.

The amendments moved by Hon Andrew LEUNG was negatived.

 

To watch the proceedings of the meetings

19 March
20 March
21 March

To listen to the proceedings of the meetings

19 March
20 March
21 March

 

**************************************

Preview of the next Council meeting:

At its meeting to be held on 26 March 2014, the Legislative Council will deal with the following matters:

(1) To resume Second Reading debates on the Rural Representative Election Legislation (Amendment) Bill 2013, the Securities and Futures (Amendment) Bill 2013 and the Loans (Amendment) Bill 2014; and

(2) To debate motions on "Properly dealing with problems arising from cross-boundary students" and  "Safeguarding academic freedom" moved by Hon TAM Yiu-chung and Dr Hon Kenneth CHAN respectively.

More Issues

Back Top

立法會彙報
立法會會議 2013-2014
 
第20期(2014年3月21日)


- 2013年稅務(修訂)(第3號)條例草案》及《2013年產品環保責任(修訂)條例草案》獲通過

- 辯論一項根據《立法會(權力及特權)條例》動議的議案,以委任一個專責委員會,調查香港商業廣播有限公司("商業電台")主持人李慧玲女士被即時終止合約及香港特別行政區政府涉嫌政治干預商業電台編輯自主

- 「明報前總編輯劉進圖先生遇襲事件」議案獲通過

- 「評估'體育普及化、精英化、盛事化'政策的成效,制訂長遠體育政策」議案獲通過

- 「鼓勵工業界回流發展,令本港產業更多元化」議案獲通過

 

在2014年3月19、20及21日舉行的立法會會議上,立法會通過下列法案:

(1) 《2013年稅務(修訂)(第3號)條例草案》

共有3位議員在二讀辯論此項法案時發言。

(2) 《2013年產品環保責任(修訂)條例草案》,以及由 環境局局長動議的全體委員會審議階段修正案

共有9位議員在二讀辯論此項法案時發言。

 

立法會亦通過下列擬議決議案:

(1) 由運輸及房屋局局長根據《釋義及通則條例》第34(2)條動議的擬議決議案,議決修訂於2014年1月22日提交立法會會議省覽的《2014年道路交通(車輛構造及保養)(修訂)規例》

共有4位議員發言。

(2) 由財經事務及庫務局局長根據《公共財政條例》動議的擬議決議案,議決批准一筆不超逾$78,677,470,000的款項記在政府一般收入上,供作支付於2014年4月1日開始的財政年度政府服務開支之用

共有1位議員發言。

(3) 由保安局局長根據《刑事事宜相互法律協助條例》動議的擬議決議案,議決批准行政長官會同行政會議於2013年10月22日作出的《刑事事宜相互法律協助(西班牙)令》

共有1位議員發言。

(4) 由保安局局長根據《刑事事宜相互法律協助條例》動議的擬議決議案,議決批准行政長官會同行政會議於2013年10月22日作出的《刑事事宜相互法律協助(捷克共和國)令》

共有1位議員發言。

(5) 由食物及衞生局局長根據《藥劑業及毒藥條例》動議的擬議決議案,議決批准藥劑業及毒藥管理局於2014年2月14日訂立的《2014年藥劑業及毒藥(修訂)規例》及《2014年毒藥表(修訂)規例》

 

(6) 由林健鋒議員根據《釋義及通則條例》第34(4)條動議的擬議決議案,議決就2014年2月19日提交立法會會議省覽的《玩具及兒童產品安全(附加安全標準或規定)規例》、《〈玩具及兒童產品安全規例〉(廢除)規例》及《〈2013年玩具及兒童產品安全(修訂)條例〉(生效日期)公告》的修訂期限延展至2014年4月9日的會議

共有1位議員發言。

(7) 由譚耀宗議員根據《中華人民共和國香港特別行政區基本法》第七十五條動議的擬議決議案,旨在就立法機關文件及紀錄查閱,修訂立法會《議事規則》相關條文

共有3位議員發言。

 

在同一會議上,梁君彥議員根據立法會《議事規則》第49E(2)條動議的議案,以察悉提交立法會省覽有關《空氣污染管制(船用輕質柴油)規例》的內務委員會第13/13-14號報告

共有3位議員發言。

根據立法會《議事規則》第49E(9)條,上述的議案毋須付諸表決。

 

立法會亦辯論了下列議案:

由毛孟靜議員根據《立法會(權力及特權)條例》動議的議案,以委任一個專責委員會,調查香港商業廣播有限公司("商業電台")主持人李慧玲女士被即時終止合約及香港特別行政區政府涉嫌政治干預商業電台編輯自主;而該委員會在執行其職務時獲授權根據《立法會(權力及特權)條例》(第382章)第9(2)條行使該條例第9(1)條所賦予的權力

共有28位議員發言。

由毛孟靜議員動議的議案被否決。

 

此外,立法會亦通過下列不擬具立法效力的議案:

(1) 由梁君彥議員就「明報前總編輯劉進圖先生遇襲事件」動議,經毛孟靜議員和何秀蘭議員修正的議案

共有43位議員發言。

而由劉慧卿議員和范國威議員動議的修正案被否決。

 

(2) 由馬逢國議員就「評估'體育普及化、精英化、盛事化'政策的成效,制訂長遠體育政策」動議,經陳家洛議員、黃碧雲議員及張超雄議員修正的議案

共有25位議員發言。

(3) 由鍾國斌議員就「鼓勵工業界回流發展,令本港產業更多元化」動議,經單仲偕議員、梁繼昌議員及陳婉嫻議員修正的議案

共有20位議員發言。

由梁君彥議員動議的修正案被否決。

 

觀看會議過程

3月19日
3月20日
3月21日

收聽會議過程

3月19日
3月20日
3月21日

 

**************************************

下次立法會會議預告:

在將於2014年3月26日舉行的立法會會議上,立法會將處理下列事項:

(1) 恢復二讀辯論《2013年鄉郊代表選舉法例(修訂)條例草案》、《2013年證券及期貨(修訂)條例草案》及《2014年借款(修訂)條例草案》;以及

(2) 辯論分別由譚耀宗議員及陳家洛議員就「妥善處理跨境學童引伸的問題」及「捍衞學術自由」動議的議案。

More Issues

Back Go to Top